Procrastination: Rewriting my Song

Trying to overcome procrastination, I found myself procrastinating as I was thinking about zapping procrastination and overcoming toddler voices and other negative voices. My inner muse inspired me to rewrite a song. Ha–maybe that’s what we’re all literally doing–rewriting our songs. Anyone know the song, “Sail” by AWOLNation? You know the song about blaming your ADD? I decided to rewrite it with a positive slant on overcoming procrastination and choosing the voice I feed. Now I ask myself, “Was the writing of this a form of procrastination?” Rewriting songs is more fun than grading papers that’s for sure. If you’re so inspired, listen to the song, but read my words.

Sail
Often I procrastinate.
Toddler voice is in control.
Blame it on my ADD, baby.

This is how no work gets done.
Save it all for later times.
Distracted by all that shines, baby

Fail, fail
Fail, fail, fail

Maybe I can shift my course.
Seein’ there’s a pos’tive force.
Not blaming my ADD, baby

I choose the voice I feed.
When I’m procrastinating
So ZAP my negativity, baby

Sail, sail
Sail, sail, sail
La la la la la la, la la la la la la
la la la la la la, la la la la la la
Sail, sail
Sail, sail
Sail, sail
Sail, sail, sail

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

